Bidding Principles: Cue Bidding

Principle:  A new suit at the four level in an uncontested auction is a cue bid if the opening bid was at the one level

In this article I am going to assume that you are playing a system based on modern ideas. In that case I can see virtually no exceptions to my principle.  If not, you may feel that these are exceptions.

1)  Do you play Gerber? I do, but only if the bidding has gone  1NT (P) 4(. I suppose that is an exception. If you play Gerber more extensively you will need to sort this exception out with your partner. In one of my more mischievous moods I will quote from Ron Klinger’s tour of England:

Ron to audience:     How many of you play Gerber?

Audience to Ron:     Plenty of raised hands.

Ron to audience:     I will give you this advice. Try playing without Gerber to see how

                                 you get on. Give it a fair trial, then review your progress.

Member of audience to Ron:  What do you think is a fair trial?

Ron to questioner:   About twenty years.

2)  Do you still play that sequences like:  1( (P) 4(/4(/4(  are pre-empts? If so they are also an exception. They really are not needed as pre-empts. Pre-empts are most effective before anybody has bid because you may score a coup if you are heavily outgunned in high cards but you create enough confusion to prevent your opponents finding their best contract. After partner has opened 1( you have much less to fear because:

i)   It is highly likely that your side has at least half of the high cards in the pack.

ii)  One opponent has already passed.

Modern players play that a double jump shows a splinter (singleton or perhaps void) in the jump suit and good support for partner in a hand worth a raise to game. This can lead to excellent slams on minimal values when the hands fit well, as in (a).

(a)  West

East 

( A K J 5 4 2

( Q 10 9 3 

( 8 5 4 3

( 2

( A Q


( 8 7 4

( 9


( A K 7 3 2

West
East

1(
4(
4NT
5(
6(
No

West knows that despite probably missing all the heart honours there will be a singleton heart in dummy and dummy will have at least four trumps to deal with his heart losers. Slam is excellent despite a combined total of just 23 high-card points. If repeated trump leads make it impossible for declarer to ruff three hearts then he can try to set up the fifth club, and fall back on the diamond finesse if that fails.

Note that a splinter is a type of cue bid: it agrees partner’s suit and shows a control in the bid suit. It is just a specific type of control: shortage.

If you have not agreed the above principle then how would your partnership deal with (b)? 

(b)  West

East

( A Q J 8 3 2

( K 6 5

( A 8


( 9 5 4

( K 7 6

( A Q J 3 2

( 6 2


( A 3

I suggest the following simple auction:

West

East

1(

2(
3(

4(
4(

4NT

5(

6(



4( is a cue bid agreeing spades. When West shows a heart control East decides he has general values for a slam and bids it after checking for aces. If you play a sophisticated version of Roman key-card Blackwood East may be able to find that West has the (Q and (K as well as his two aces and six spades, enabling East to count 13 tricks and bid the excellent 7NT.

  Incidentally, there are those who will tell you that you can have it both ways here: 4( might be a cue bid or a suit. My advice is that unless you are a bridge professional  don’t even consider it! The potential for cock-ups is huge!

Many of my principles tie in together. Look hand ©:

(c) West

East

( K 6 3

( A Q J 8 7 5

( A 7 5

( K Q

( 9 7 4 2

( A 8

(  K Q J

(10 6 4

West

East

1NT

2(
2(

4(
4(

4(
4NT

5(
6(

No

East transfers to spades and then jumps to 4(. A new suit at the three-level would be game forcing (see my previous article) so this is a cue bid agreeing spades. (Some partnerships may play it as a specific cue bid ie. a splinter, but we will keep it simple here.)  West cue bids the (A and East, satisfied with his mild slam try which pinpoints that he does not have the (A, declines to bypass 4(. Now West should look at his hand. His job is not to count twelve tricks, after all he is hardly able to do that after opening 1NT. Instead he should try to work out whether his hand is likely to be useful. The (K is clearly an excellent card, and the clubs will be reassuring to an East who seems to be lacking a club control, so West checks that two aces are not missing before bidding 6(.    

If the opening bid was at the two level or higher, things are a lot more murky. This is because the opening bid took up far more space and the hunt for a suitable trump suit may still be on. Look at the auctions below:

(d) West  East

(e)  West    East
(f)  West   East

    2(
   3(

      
       2NT     3(
     2NT    4(


    3(
   4( 

      
       3(       4(


You can certainly argue that sequence (d) is similar to (b), ie. that West’s spades should be excellent and that East is far more likely to want to agree spades than show a minor two-suiter. However after a 2NT opener responder often wants to show a two-suiter in a way that cannot be shown below the four-level. In (e) and (f) 4( is clearly natural.

How about this principle?:  After an opening bid at the two level, a new suit at the four level is a cue bid unless the first natural bid made by the partnership was no-trumps.

If the opening bid was at the three-level then you must decide what to do
    

(g) West
East


(h)  West
East

     3(

4(/4(

     
      3(

4(
You can play the four level change of suit without a jump, (g),  as natural or as a cue bid agreeing spades. I prefer to play it as natural. If you choose to play 4(/( as cue bids that will have severe implications for your pre-empts. My three-level pre-empts do not necessarily show such a strong suit that partner is not invited to give an opinion that an alternative denomination may be desirable. However 4( in (h) should be a cue bid because I can always bid 3( (forcing) followed by 4( if I really want to play in 4(.

Obligation to Cue Bid?

My principle this time is not so much a matter of system as one of style. Cue bidding has two functions: showing a control, and showing enthusiasm. Partnerships should discuss how they should manage a hand where one partner has what might be a vital control, but lacks any enthusiasm. Obviously you don’t start cue bidding if you have little or no enthusiasm, but what if partner starts first?

Principle :  If partner initiates a cue bidding sequence, you should be obliged to show an appropriate control if you can do so below game unless you are absolutely certain that slam is impossible, but you can use judgement to decide whether or not to bypass game.

For the duration of this article I will assume you have a simple cue-bidding style of initially bidding first-round controls and only bidding second round controls when partner already knows whether or not you have first round control in the suit.

In hand (a) East is torn between a raise to 2( or 3(. With 9 losers he could easily justify a raise to just 2(, but being vulnerable at teams he allows the point count to push him to 3(. When West bids 4( (showing first round diamond control but denying first round club control) East’s slam enthusiasm is non-existent, but he dutifully shows the (A. West shows good judgement in treating his hand as worth just a mild slam try and bids 4(, which East is delighted to pass.   

(a) West

East

( A Q 10 9 8 2
( J 7 5 4

( Q 10 4

( A 7 6

( A K


( Q 6

( K 6


( Q J 7 3

West

East

1(

3(
4(

4(
4(

No

This hand is worthy of further examination. You can see that no contract above 4( is safe, yet I would almost guarantee that most club players with the West hand would follow up 4( with 4NT. West has 18 high-card points in an essentially balanced hand, not an ingredient for a slam unless East is particularly suitable. Most players tend to overbid strong, balanced hands.

Should East cue bid at all with such rubbish? Look at hand (b).

(b) West

East

( A K Q 9 8 

( J 7 5 4

( 9 8


( A 7 6

( A K J 10 3

( Q 6

( 8
 

( Q J 7 3

West

East

1(

3(
4(

4(
6(
Once West hears about the (A, he can bid 6( immediately. He expects to discard dummy’s hearts on his diamonds, so 6( will be at worst on a finesse for the (Q.

Perhaps you think that West is too strong for a 1( opening bid. If you play Acol two-bids then 2( would be fine, but many partnerships nowadays use up all their two-level openings for weak hands, and the West hand isn’t worth opening a game-forcing 2(. 1( isn’t really dangerous. The chances of the bidding going 1( (P) P (P) when West has such good shape is remote.  

In hand © East cannot cue bid below game level and rightly refuses to bypass 4(.

©  West

East

( A Q 10 9 8 2
( J 7 5 4

( K 6


( Q J 7 3

( A K


( Q 6

( Q 10 4

( A 7 6

West

East

1(

3(
4(

4(
Hand (d) provided a richly deserved swing to one team in a teams-of-four match.

(d)  West

East

( A K J 5 4 3

( 10 7 6 2

( 9


( K Q 8 6

(10


( K Q 5

( K Q J 4 2

( 8 3

(e) West
East

(f)
West
East

      1(

3(


1(
3(
      4NT
5(


4(
4(
      5(




4(
The first team bid as in auction (e). West was bitterly disappointed to find that East had no aces and 5( drifted the inevitable one off. West considered himself unlucky. Was Blackwood so unreasonable? Their opponents provided the answer. West decided he would lose nothing by starting with a slightly misleading 4(. Of course East might take that as showing the (A, but it hardly matters. Having responded with a limit bid of 3( East is hardly in a position to take control of the auction and his reply to 4( will enable West to plan the way forward. When East could not cue-bid a red ace West settled in a safe 4(.

The same principles apply at the five level.

(g)   West

East

( A K 10 7 4 3
( J 9 5 2

( Q J 10 6 3

( K 4

( A Q


( 8 4 2  

( -


( A Q J 2

West

East

1(

3(
4(

4(
 

5(

5(
6(
In (g) East is hardly encouraged by West’s 4( bid. Assuming it shows first round club control then seven of East’s points are facing a void. 4( is very wise, but when West continues with 5( East is obliged to show his (K below the level of the agreed trump suit. Of course 5( shows second round heart control because with first round heart control East would have bid 4( over 4(.  

Are there any exceptions to our principle? Inevitably there are many exceptions based on common sense, for example hand (h) below. 

(h)  West

East

( A K Q 4

( J 10 8 5 3  

( A K 


( 6 2

( 9 7 5 4   

( A 10 3 

( A Q 3 

( 10 7 5 

West

East

2NT

3(
4(

4(
East’s 3( is a transfer and West’s 4( breaks the transfer, showing an outstanding hand with 4-card spade support and the (A. The 4( bid does not say: ‘I have reason to believe a slam might be present’. It says: ‘Just in case you are looking for a slam, this is what I have.’  For East to continue with 4( would be mindless. He knows that slam is out of the question and must convey that message with an immediate 4(.  

It is always a pleasure to watch experts fall flat on their face. One of the most common causes of hilarity is to see a complicated auction end with a bid that was  meant as a cue bid. I would have had a good laugh at the following disaster, except the pair concerned happened to be our team-mates.

What do you think West’s 4( and East’s 4(  bids mean in auction (a)?

West
East

1(
2(
2(
3(
4(
4(
Pass

West meant 4( as natural, stressing unexpectedly good diamonds. East remembered West’s failure to support diamonds on the last round and decided 4( was a cue bid or splinter bid agreeing clubs. 

How about 4(? East thought it was a cue-bid agreeing hearts. West thought it was to play. Now let me show you the hands.

West



East

(  J

                
(  Q 6 3

(  A J 9 8 5 4

( -

(  Q 7 5 4


(  A 10 6 3 2

(  K 7



(  A Q 6 3 2

I think we all need to develop a sixth sense to see when a bid may be ambiguous. As long as East/West had agreed that 3( (a new suit at three level) was game forcing then 3( would be kinder to partner.  Having said that, 4(  was really asking for trouble. If you agree a minor and then support partner’s major at the 4-level it is usually to play. You need precise rules as to when the minor is irrevocably agreed, and in the absence any then you should avoid uncharted territory.  In any case it is rarely desirable to cue-bid a void in partner’s side suit, particularly when he has bid it twice. If partner has a holding like  K Q 7 4 3 2  he will think you have the ace, giving a good source of tricks.

It is easy to be critical: we now need good principles to guide us through difficult territory.

Principle:  If the partners have agreed a minor suit and then one partner decides to return to his partner’s major at the four level then it is a suggestion of a final contract, not a cue bid.  This is in line with my general philosophy of bidding, that finding the right denomination at game level takes priority over slam investigation.

To make this point absolutely clear, consider auctions (a) and (b).

(a) West
East

(b)
West
East

     1(

2(


1(
2(
     4(

4(


4(
4(
In (a) 4( is natural, to play. In (b) 4( is a cue bid with hearts agreed. These sequences demonstrate the relative importance of major and minor suits. If you have agreed a minor then it might still be correct to play in the major. If you have agreed a major there is little point in looking for an alternative major fit.

My next example shows quite a few of my principles in action together.

West


East

( A K


( 10 6 5 

( K Q 10 3 2

( A

( K J 8 7

( A Q 10 3 2

( 7 5


( A K 4 2

West

East

1(

2(
4(

5(
5(

5(
5(

5NT

6(

7(
4( is game-forcing because both partners have shown better than minimum: responder by changing suit at the two level and opener by jumping. 5( is a cue bid. It denies first round control in spades, shows first round control in clubs, but says nothing about hearts because 4(  over 4( would be natural.

  Although West has valuable spade control he chooses not to bypass 5( because he is minimum for 4(. West would be obliged to show a control below 5(, but can choose not to push the bidding past game.

  Without any spade control East is a little concerned about bypassing 5(, but it is difficult to construct a hand consistent with West’s bidding with two losing spades so he tries 5(, which now shows first round heart control. West assumes East the (A, because it is not good practice to cue bid a void in partner’s suit unless you don’t care if he assumes it is the ace. West has to show his (A now: 5( must show first round control because it is co-operating in the search for a grand slam in an auction where East has denied such control.   

  East now bids 5NT, a grand slam force. 6( would show no top trump, 6( shows one: the (K. East is now confident enough to try the grand slam.

How about if a player chooses to rebid his own major at the four level after a minor suit is agreed? In auction © is 4(  a suggestion to play there or a cue bid?

© West
East

    1(

1(
    2(

4(
    4(
What matters is that you and your partner agree. I would take it as a cue-bid, after all if hearts were really strong you might have chosen to rebid them rather than 2(.

Are there any exceptions to our principle? Can you ever cue bid your partner’s major when you have agreed a minor?

I would suggest that if a minor suit has been agreed and both partners have already cue bid then a bid of partner’s major is a cue bid.

West


East

( A 
 

( Q 6 5 4 2

( 8 3


( A 7 6 

( A Q J 7 6 5

( K 8 4 

( A K J 3

( Q 2

West

East

1(

1(
3(

3(
4(

4(
4(

5(
6(
East’s 3( is game forcing. When East gives preference to 3( West is very encouraged. Taking the view that if 3NT was the right contract then East would already have bid it West continues with a cue bid of 4(. East is virtually obliged to return the cue bid with 4(, though if he had the same hand with the (K replaced by the (2 and the (Q replaced by the (4 then he could reasonably take the view that slam is out of the question opposite a one-level opening bid and make a ‘fast arrival’ jump to 5(.  Now West’s 4( is a cue-bid 

because both partners have already cue bid in support of diamonds. With nothing left to cue bid East settles for 5(, but East has clearly not ruled out a slam with his 4(  bid so West happily raises to the excellent slam.
